JUVE Law Firm of the year

Tax

Internal investigations driving work at large firms

The importance of tax as a central element of good corporate governance has been rising steadily for some years now. There have been two issues dominating advice of late: internal investigations and the so-called BEPS Project (base erosion and profit shifting).

Litigation as part of dealing with the fallout from borderline tax situations has become the main revenue driver for some firms. Cases such as the German Soccer Association affair over the awarding of the 2006 World Cup, the ADAC structures, Maple Bank’s history of dividend stripping and investigations into Deutsche Bank’s involvement in sales tax fraud are just the tip of the iceberg – the majority of investigations most likely never make it into the public domain.

Cross-border tax abuse work still rare

In contrast, the challenges posed by the measures now passed in Germany and the EU to tackle cross-border tax abuse by corporates (BEPS) are still just theoretical – major projects leading to huge fees are still a rarity. This is likely to change, esp. as regards tax reporting in companies. Disputes are likely to arise between individual countries over the correct amount of taxation for international corporates. The consequence: skill in conducting international arbitration – a field that has hardly been relevant at all in tax – will become a key discipline in the future.

Expansion and restructuring everywhere

Top-flight international firms such as Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer and Linklaters, who also dominate the internal investigations scene, are well prepared for this. Market leader Flick Gocke Schaumburg also seems to have set the right course just in time by joining the international Taxand network. Integrating itself into the network, however, is calling for management efforts on a scale FGS has never seen before.

For other firms, it is the generation change taking center stage, as these teams have to accomplish this for the first time since establishing a tax presence in Germany. Allen & Overy, for instance, recruited staff from Big Four competitors in 2015 and 2016 to cushion the withdrawal of Eugen Bogenschütz from the partnership. Baker & McKenzie is following the same pattern: to fill the gap left by Christian Brodersen’s departure, the firm brought on board a young partner from KPMG. Both firms are thus displaying yet again their traditional openness towards tax advisors from the Big Four world – though the success of this experiment has yet to be seen.

Just below the Big Four in terms of turnover is the large MDP Rödl & Partner, which focuses on the internationally active German Mittelstand. For some time now, Rödl has been transcending its traditional boundaries. By taking on sales tax advice to a number of DAX corporates, the firm closed in on the Big Four – though, in terms of renown, Rödl can rival neither these nor the expanding specialist firm Küffner Maunz Langer Zugmaier.

 


 

Tax advice is usually provided on the interface with other legal areas. For specialist expertise, readers are therefore advised to consult the following chapters: ?banking and finance, ?corporate, ?M&A, ?company succession and trusts, ?private equity and venture capital and ?real estate. Firms with a specialty in ?tax criminal law are listed in the corresponding chapter. An overview of firms providing advice related to current (internal) investigations within interdisciplinary teams or advising companies on compliance structuring can be found under ?compliance audits and investigations.


PfeilJUVE Law Firm of the year

JUVE Kanzlei des Jahres

Steuerrecht

Interne Ermittlungen treiben Geschäft der Großkanzleien

Das Thema Steuern als zentrales Element guter Unternehmensführung wird Jahr für Jahr wichtiger. Zuletzt dominierten zwei Themen die Beratungsinhalte: interne Untersuchungen und das sog. BEPS-Projekt.

So hat sich die Vertretung bei der Aufarbeitung steuerlich grenzwertiger Sachverhalte bei einigen Kanzleien zum Hauptumsatzbringer entwickelt. Fälle wie die DFB-Affäre um die Vergabe der Fußball-WM 2006, die ADAC-Strukturen, die Aufbereitung der Cum-Ex-Vergangenheit der Maple Bank oder Untersuchungen zur Mitwirkung am Umsatzsteuerbetrug bei der Deutschen Bank sind nur die Spitze des Eisbergs – die meisten Untersuchungen kommen wohl nie an die Öffentlichkeit.

Mandate zu grenzüberschreitendem Steuermissbrauch noch rar

Dagegen sind die Herausforderungen, die die mittlerweile auch in Deutschland und der EU verabschiedeten Maßnahmen zur Bekämpfung grenzüberschreitenden Steuermissbrauchs durch Konzerne (BEPS) mit sich bringen, bislang eher Theorie – große Beratungsprojekte, die zu einem relevanten Honorarvolumen führen, sind noch Mangelware. Doch das wird sich ändern, insbes. des Steuerreportings in Unternehmen. Auch Streitereien zwischen einzelnen Ländern über die korrekte Höhe der Besteuerung international aufgestellter Konzerne werden aufkommen. Folge: Die Kompetenz, internationale Schiedsverfahren zu führen – im Steuerrecht bislang eine kaum relevante Materie –, wird künftig zu einer Schlüsseldisziplin werden.

Ausbau und Umbau allerorten

Entsprechend vorbereitet sind internationale Top-Kanzleien wie Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer und Linklaters, die auch das Segment der internen Untersuchungen dominieren. Aber auch Marktführerin Flick Gocke Schaumburg scheint mit dem Beitritt zum internationalen Taxand-Netzwerk gerade noch rechtzeitig die richtigen Weichen gestellt zu haben. Allerdings erfordert die Integration in das Netzwerk von der Kanzlei derzeit Managementanstrengungen, die FGS in diesem Ausmaß noch nicht erlebt hat.

Für andere Kanzleien steht dagegen eher der Generationswechsel im Mittelpunkt, den diese erstmals seit dem Aufbau ihrer steuerlichen Präsenz in Deutschland zu bewerkstelligen haben. So bediente sich Allen & Overy 2015 und 2016 jeweils bei der Big-Four-Konkurrenz, um das Ausscheiden Eugen Bogenschütz’ aus der Partnerschaft abzufedern. Baker & McKenzie agierte nach demselben Muster und holte für Christian Brodersens einen jüngeren Partner von KPMG. Die traditionelle Offenheit gegenüber Steuerberatern aus der Big-Four-Welt in beiden Kanzleien stellen sie so erneut unter Beweis – ein Experiment, dessen Erfolg allerdings noch nicht absehbar ist.

In puncto Umsatz unmittelbar unter den Big Four findet sich die auf den international agierenden deutschen Mittelstand fokussierte MDP Rödl & Partner. Doch seit einiger Zeit deutete sich an, dass Rödl ihre traditionellen Grenzen sprengt. Mit der Übernahme der Umsatzsteuerberatung in einigen Dax-Konzernen rückt sie etwas näher an die Big Four heran – auch wenn es Rödl bislang weder vom Renommee mit diesen oder der expandierenden Spezialkanzlei Küffner Maunz Langer Zugmaier aufnehmen kann.


Steuerliche Beratung erfolgt meist an der Schnittstelle zu anderen Fachgebieten. Zu spezieller Expertise siehe daher auch ?Bank- u. Finanzrecht, ?Gesellschaftsrecht, ?M&A, ?Nachfolge/Vermögen/Stiftungen, ?Private Equity, ?Immobilienrecht. Kanzleien mit Schwerpunkt im Steuerstrafrecht werden erwähnt, sind aber auch im anschließenden Unterkapitel ?Steuerstrafrecht gelistet. Eine Übersicht zu Kanzleien, die mit fachübergreifenden Teams bei aktuellen Untersuchungen/internen Ermittlungen beraten und Unternehmen beim strukturellen Aufbau von Compliance begleiten, findet sich unter ?Compliance-Untersuchungen.

 


PfeilJUVE Kanzlei des Jahres