JUVE Law Firm of the year

White Collar Crime

Fresh supply of investigations on the way

Deutsche Bank executives in Munich: not guilty. HSH executive in Hamburg: not guilty. Porsche executives in Stuttgart: not guilty. These proceedings show how difficult it is to impose criminal penalties on those in commerce whose behavior has been condemned by society. But the investigatory authorities and plaintiffs hoping to establish grounds for their civil proceedings will keep on trying nonetheless. For months, the Volkswagen diesel affair has been emerging as a juggernaut investigation, which is causing ever greater ripples in the auto sector and political realm and extends right into boardrooms.

The scandals involving sports clubs and associations and the Anti-Doping Act are opening up an entirely new client group for criminal investigators. On the other hand, criminal lawyers expect little new explosive material from the revelations in the Panama Papers, as many banks and offshore account holders were caught long ago in the proceedings in Switzerland. It is a different story when it comes to dealing with dividend stripping (also called “cum-ex”) and so-called “cum-cum” structures. A band of defense lawyers has now come together to get to grips with the subject matter.

Many fields flourishing

Meanwhile, a renaissance in environmental criminal law, the new Anti-Money Laundering Directive, the new act on healthcare corruption and investigators taking a closer look at investments in Luxembourg and Liechtenstein will also play their part in keeping the criminal law experts at law firms and the judiciary on their toes.

The generation after next is lining up

Though it is the familiar names from the defense scene who continue to dominate in high-profile proceedings, the generation change is emerging. There is a small but noticeable age gap behind the “seniors” because, for a while, young talent was not really being promoted. This is already giving the lawyer generation after next – propelled by the high demand – space to prove its merit. And the developments at Rettenmaier & Adick, the younger generation at Dr. Schneider & Partner and Prof. Dr. Gerson Trüg at Bender Harrer Krevet certainly all show that young lawyers are making the most of this. Establishing themselves for the long term will take time and require more assignments in high-profile proceedings.

This is all the more true as firms with broad setups and young criminal lawyers begin to encroach onto the market, among them AC Tischendorf, Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek, Kapellmann und Partner and Grub Brugger. Though these do not pose a threat to the criminal law boutiques just yet, they do complicate the already difficult search for new talent: the number of good lawyers wanting to devote their time to white collar crime is small, and the fact that virtually all boutiques and ever more civil law firms are all searching for reinforcements makes the chance of actually hiring a young lawyer something akin to winning the lottery. This is also reflected in the fees. The €374 average found in the last JUVE survey is deceiving: for the leading players in major cities, this figure has long been over €500 – in a number of respects, white collar crime certainly does not pay.

 


 

The following chapter deals with firms which provide advice on white collar crime. Please also see the chapters on ?dispute resolution, ?public law, ?tax and ?tax criminal law. The rankings distinguish between advice and litigation for companies as plaintiffs or parties affected under the Regulatory Offenses Act, and defense of individuals. Multidisciplinary ?compliance advice is covered in a separate chapter. As a rule, client details tend to refer to advice in proceedings ongoing at the time of going to print and constitute allegations that have not yet been proven.


PfeilJUVE Law Firm of the year

JUVE Kanzlei des Jahres

Wirtschaftsstrafrecht

Für Ermittlungsnachschub ist gesorgt

Deutsche-Bank-Vorstände in München: Freispruch. HSH-Vorstand in Hamburg: Freispruch. Porsche-Vorstände in Stuttgart: Freispruch. Diese Verfahren zeigen, wie schwierig es ist, gesellschaftlich kritisch gesehenem Verhalten im Wirtschaftsleben mit strafrechtlichen Mitteln zu begegnen. Ermittlungsbehörden und Geschädigte, die sich Erkenntnisse für ihren Zivilprozess erhoffen, werden es dennoch weiter versuchen. Seit Monaten mausert sich zudem die Dieselaffäre von Volkswagen zu einem ermittlungstechnischen Moloch, der immer weitere Kreise in der Kfz-Branche und der Politik zieht u. inzw. auch den Vorstand erreicht hat.

Die Skandale um Sportclubs und -verbände und das Antidopinggesetz bringen zudem eine ganz neue Klientel ins Visier von Strafermittlern. Von den Enthüllungen der Panama Papers hingegen erwarten Strafrechtler nur wenig neuen Zündstoff, da viele Banken und Briefkastenfirmenbesitzer längst im Zuge der Schweiz-Verfahren erfasst wurden. Anders sieht es bei der Aufarbeitung der Strukturen von Cum-Ex und Cum-Cum aus. Dafür hat sich inzwischen sogar ein Gesprächskreis von Verteidigern gebildet, um der Materie Herr zu werden.

Vielfältige Beratungsfelder tun sich auf

Eine Renaissance des Umweltstrafrechts, die neue Geldwäscherichtlinie, das neue Gesetz zur Korruption im Gesundheitswesen und ein wieder intensiverer Blick der Fahnder auf Geldanlagen in Luxemburg und Liechtenstein werden zusätzlich ihren Teil dazu beitragen, dass die Strafrechtsexperten in Kanzleien und Justiz gut zu tun haben.

Die übernächste Generation macht sich bereit

Auch wenn die altbekannten Namen der Strafverteidigerszene das Bild bei den medienwirksamen Verfahren nach wie vor beherrschen, wird der Generationswechsel immer deutlicher. Auffällig ist, dass sich hinter den Senioren eine kleine Alterslücke zeigt, weil eine Zeit lang kaum junge Anwälte aufgebaut wurden. Das gibt – forciert durch den hohen Bedarf – aktuell schon der übernächsten Anwaltsgeneration Raum, sich zu beweisen. Und den nutzt sie, wie etwa die Entwicklungen von Rettenmaier & Adick, der jüngeren Generation bei Dr. Schneider & Partner oder aber von Prof. Dr. Gerson Trüg von Bender Harrer Krevet zeigen. Sich nachhaltig zu etablieren, wird Zeit und weitere Einsätze in prominenten Verfahren erfordern, zumal auch weitere breit aufgestellte Kanzleien mit jüngeren Strafrechtlern ins Geschäft drängen, darunter etwa AC Tischendorf, Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek, Kapellmann und Partner oder Grub Brugger.

Eine Bedrohung für die Strafrechtsboutiquen sind sie derzeit noch nicht, doch sie verschärfen die ohnehin schwierige Nachwuchssuche: Der Kreis guter Juristen, die sich dem Wirtschaftsstrafrecht widmen wollen, ist überschaubar und die Tatsache, dass nahezu alle Boutiquen und immer mehr Zivilkanzleien Verstärkung suchen, macht den Gewinn eines jungen Anwalts zu einem Sechser im Lotto. Die Konjunktur zeigt sich auch in den Stundensätzen. Der bei der letzten JUVE-Erhebung ermittelte Durchschnittswert von 374 Euro täuscht: Für die führenden Köpfe in den Großstädten sind längst über 500 Euro fällig – Wirtschaftskriminalität wird also gleich in vielfacher Hinsicht teuer.


Die folgenden Bewertungen behandeln Kanzleien, die im Wirtschaftsstrafrecht beraten. Bitte beachten Sie auch die Kapitel ?Konfliktlösung, ?Öffentliches Wirtschaftsrecht, ?Steuerrecht sowie ?Steuerstrafrecht. Die tabellarischen Übersichten unterscheiden zwischen Individualverteidigung u. der Beratung beziehungsweise Begleitung von Unternehmen als Geschädigte oder nach dem Ordnungswidrigkeitengesetz Betroffene. Die fachübergreifende ?Compliance-Beratung wird in einem gesonderten Kapitel dargestellt. Die Mandatsbeschreibungen beziehen sich in aller Regel auf die Beratung bei zum Zeitpunkt des Redaktionsschlusses laufenden Verfahren mit entsprechend nicht rechtskräftig festgestellten Vorwürfen.

 


PfeilJUVE Kanzlei des Jahres