JUVE Law Firm of the year

From old problems to new business ideas

In the summer months of 2017 it became clear that the clean-up work in Europe in the wake of the banking crisis was by no means over. In early June, the Spanish Banco Popular was wound up by the Single Resolution Board, the Brussels-based mechanism for the resolution of banks. Just a few weeks later, the Italian government controversially decided to rescue two regional banks by means of state aid.

And lastly, at the beginning of July, the EU Commission approved the state rescue plan for the largest problem area in the Italian banking sector, the traditional bank Monte dei Paschi di Siena. In Germany too, there is no end to the frenzy of activity in sight: while Commerzbank and Deutsche Bank continue to fine-tune their restructuring plans, Hamburg and Schleswig-Holstein are looking for a buyer for the ailing HSH Nordbank. If they do not find one by February 2018, asset stripping awaits.

While the Fed initiated an interest rate reversal in the US, the ECB is still taking its time with a monetary policy decision. Its ongoing low-interest policy means that the pressure to invest remains high and that even hard-to-sell securities are finding buyers.

Bonds still in the race

The IPO market gradually gathered pace from mid-2017 onwards after an extremely slow start, but the bond market was dynamic across the board. Companies like VW, Siemens and Deutsche Telekom obtained billions in fresh capital. Refinancing costs remained low. On top of this were the monthly bond purchases by the ECB, which generated further market demand. According to KfW’s credit market outlook, the ongoing strong economy and the increasing likelihood of higher credit costs in the future had a positive impact on demand in the credit market. Traditional banks as lenders remained under pressure, however, as the market share of alternative lenders increased. The financial institutions responded with more flexible terms. Borrowers seized on this opportunity to improve their interest and framework conditions.

Brexit causing domino effect

The most difficult issue for financial institutes at present, however, is Brexit. The outcome of the UK elections in June heightened uncertainty further and the flight began. In early July, Japan’s third largest bank, Sumitomo Mitsui, announced it would relocate its EU headquarters from London to Frankfurt. It thus became the third Japanese bank to choose the German metropolis as its alternative location in the space of a few days. In recent weeks and months, other international banks and financial institutes have also sounded out the Frankfurt market as a future alternative, among them Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley, Standard Chartered and Citygroup.

But by no means is it clear yet what exactly the changes in the individual institutes will look like, when the potential relocations will take place and which cities will profit from Brexit and to what extent. Frankfurt is just one of several options for many banks and financial services providers. Nevertheless, it is clear: despite the EU Commission’s veto on the merger of Deutsche Börse and the London Stock Exchange, Frankfurt still has a good chance of becoming the EU’s new financial capital in competition with Paris, Amsterdam and Dublin.

Banks cooperating with fintechs

Other factors are also having a major impact on business in the industry at present: a multitude of fintech startups are attempting to revolutionize financial services on a technical basis and thus encroaching on the traditional terrain of the established market players. As more and more banks are recognizing that they run the risk of losing work to the dynamic companies, they are joining forces with the new providers. According to a PwC study, seven out of ten financial services providers in Germany are already working in cooperation with fintechs. The trend is comparatively strong in Germany, as on a global level this figure is just 45 percent.

In the past four years, more than $40bn dollars flowed into financial startups, according to PwC. In each of the last two years, around $1bn dollars were invested in fintechs specializing in artificial intelligence. Besides venture capital funds, many large financial corporates were among the investors.

Financial industry reviewing use of blockchains

The new blockchain technology, which could provide a completely new technical basis for the financial sector in the not too distant future, is being discussed intensively. At the end of June, Daimler turned heads when the carmaker and Landesbank Baden-Württemberg (LBBW) issued a debenture with a volume of €100m with the help of the technology, in parallel to the required regulatory process. Many in the financial market are currently reviewing how they can use blockchain technology in the future.

International commercial transactions and the associated goods and financial flows are the focus of many banks’, companies’ and academic institutions’ digitalization approaches. Commerzbank and the Fraunhofer Institute for Material Flow and Logistics, for example, are working together to investigate how the technology could be deployed in trade finance and supply chain management. But it has not yet been clarified how to deal with blockchain in regulations.


PfeilJUVE Law Firm of the year

JUVE Kanzlei des Jahres

Bank- und Finanzrecht

Zwischen Altlasten und neuen Geschäftsideen

In den Sommermonaten 2017 wurde deutlich, dass die Aufräumarbeiten in Europa nach der Bankenkrise keineswegs abgeschlossen sind. Anfang Juni kam es zur Abwicklung der spanischen Banco Popular über den Single Resolution Board, den Abwicklungsmechanismus für Banken mit Sitz in Brüssel. Nur wenige Wochen später beschloss die italienische Regierung die umstrittene Rettung von zwei Regionalbanken mittels Staatshilfe.

Schließlich billigte die EU-Kommission Anfang Juli den staatlichen Rettungsplan für das größte Sorgenkind im italienischen Bankensektor, die Traditionsbank Monte dei Paschi di Siena. Und auch in Deutschland ist noch kein Ende der Betriebsamkeit in Sicht: Während Commerzbank und Deutsche Bank weiter an ihren Umbauplänen feilen, suchen Hamburg und Schleswig-Holstein nach einem Käufer für die angeschlagene HSH Nordbank. Finden sie ihn nicht bis Februar 2018, droht die Zerschlagung.

Während die Fed in den USA die Zinswende eingeleitet hat, lässt die EZB mit einer geldpolitischen Entscheidung weiter auf sich warten. Ihre anhaltende Niedrigzinspolitik sorgt dafür, dass der Anlagedruck hoch bleibt und selbst schwer verkäufliche Wertpapiere ihre Abnehmer finden.

Anleihen weiter gut im Rennen

Während der IPO-Markt nach einem äußerst trägen Beginn etwa ab Mitte 2017 allmählich Fahrt aufnahm, zeigte sich der Anleihenmarkt durchgängig dynamisch. Unternehmen wie VW, Siemens und Deutsche Telekom besorgten sich frisches Kapital in Milliardenhöhe. Die Refinanzierungskosten blieben günstig. Dazu kamen die monatlichen Anleihenkäufe der EZB, die dem Markt zusätzliche Nachfrage bescherten. Laut KfW-Kreditmarktausblick wirkten sich die anhaltend gute Konjunktur und die zunehmende Wahrscheinlichkeit künftig höherer Kreditkosten positiv auf die Nachfrage am Kreditmarkt aus. Dabei standen die klassischen Banken als Kreditgeber jedoch weiter unter Druck, da der Marktanteil alternativer Kreditgeber zunahm. Die Geldhäuser reagierten darauf mit flexibleren Bedingungen. Die Kreditnehmer nutzten diese Gelegenheit, um ihre Zins- und Rahmenbedingungen zu verbessern.

Brexit entfaltet Fliehkräfte

Das derzeit schwierigste Thema für Finanzinstitute ist allerdings der Brexit. Der Ausgang der Parlamentswahlen in Großbritannien im Juni erhöhte die Unsicherheit noch einmal, die Flucht setzt ein. Anfang Juli verkündete Japans drittgrößte Bank Sumitomo Mitsui, ihren EU-Sitz von London nach Frankfurt zu verlegen. Binnen weniger Tage hatte sich damit die dritte japanische Bank für die Mainmetropole als Ausweichstandort entschieden. Zudem sondierten in den vergangenen Wochen und Monaten weitere internationale Banken und Finanzinstitute den Frankfurter Markt als zukünftige Alternative, darunter Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley, Standard Chartered und Citygroup.

Allerdings ist noch keineswegs klar, wie genau die Veränderungen in den einzelnen Instituten aussehen, wann die möglichen Verlagerungen stattfinden und welche Städte in welchem Ausmaß vom Brexit profitieren. Frankfurt ist für viele Banken und Finanzdienstleister nur eine von mehreren Optionen. Dennoch dürfte klar sein: Trotz des Vetos der EU-Kommission bei der Fusion von Deutscher Börse und London Stock Exchange hat die Mainmetropole im Wettbewerb mit Paris, Amsterdam und Dublin weiterhin gute Karten, neue Finanzhauptstadt der EU zu werden.

Banken kooperieren mit Fintechs

Auch andere Faktoren beeinflussen das Geschäft der Branche derzeit deutlich: Eine Vielzahl von Fintech-Start-ups versucht, Finanzdienstleistungen auf technischer Basis zu revolutionieren und wildert damit auf dem angestammten Terrain der etablierten Marktteilnehmer. Da immer mehr Banken erkennen, dass sie Gefahr laufen, Geschäft an die dynamischen Unternehmen zu verlieren, verbünden sie sich mit den neuen Anbietern. So arbeiten in Deutschland einer PwC-Studie zufolge bereits sieben von zehn Finanzdienstleistern mit Fintechs zusammen. Damit zeigt sich der Trend in Deutschland vergleichsweise stark, denn global gesehen liegt dieser Anteil bei gerade einmal 45 Prozent.

In den vergangenen vier Jahren sind laut PwC weltweit mehr als 40 Milliarden US-Dollar in Finanz-Start-ups geflossen. In den letzten beiden Jahren wurde jeweils rund eine Milliarde US-Dollar in FinTechs investiert, die sich auf künstliche Intelligenz spezialisiert haben. Dabei zählten neben Venture-Capital-Fonds auch viele große Finanzkonzerne zu den Geldgebern.

Finanzindustrie prüft den Einsatz von Blockchains

Sehr intensiv wird die neuartige Blockchain-Technologie diskutiert, die in nicht allzu ferner Zukunft eine komplett neue technische Basis für den Finanzsektor bieten könnte. Ende Juni sorgte Daimler für Aufmerksamkeit, als der Autobauer mit der Landesbank Baden-Württemberg (LBBW) parallel zum regulatorisch erforderlichen Prozess einen Schuldschein im Volumen von 100 Millionen Euro mithilfe der Technologie platzierte. Mehrere Finanzmarktteilnehmer prüfen derzeit, wie sie die Blockchain-Technologie künftig nutzen können.

Internationale Handelsgeschäfte und die damit verbundenen Waren- und Finanzströme stehen dabei im Fokus vieler Digitalisierungsansätze von Banken, Unternehmen und wissenschaftlichen Institutionen. Die Commerzbank und das Fraunhofer-Institut für Materialfluss und Logistik etwa wollen gemeinsam untersuchen, wie die Technologie bei der Handelsfinanzierung und im Supply-Chain-Management zum Einsatz kommen könnte. Allerdings ist noch nicht geklärt, wie in der Regulierung mit der Blockchain umgegangen werden soll.


PfeilJUVE Kanzlei des Jahres