Debt Issues and Structured Finance

Bond market is booming, more complicated products mired in regulations

For both investment-grade and high-yield bonds, the first half of 2017 went extremely well. While classic bonds were already red hot in 2016, the start of the year saw a notable market upturn for high-yield bonds.

The derivatives market continued to be defined by regulatory requirements. EMIR, MIFID II and MIFIR in particular made it necessary for financial institutions to initiate extensive measures in order to satisfy the new requirements.

Market leaders remain intact, centerfield has a new face

The departure of a respected partner from Clifford Chance to Dentons attracted a great deal of attention in the market. With another Clifford Chance lawyer and a partner from Baker & McKenzie, the largest law firm in the world has thus made waves in structured finance as well, establishing a good position for itself in the midfield.

However, this has not yet caused the well-established firms to feel threatened. The market leaders in particular remain unaffected. Several have taken advantage of the good business outlook to prepare for the next generation: Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer and Linklaters, for instance, have admitted younger lawyers in this area into the partnership.

In bonds, the market leaders have distinguished themselves with aplomb through innovative products: for instance, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer made an appearance advising on synthetic convertible and warrant bonds in high volumes for prominent companies such as BASF and Fresenius. Sullivan & Cromwell has also firmly established itself on the market, and was involved in two billion-euro transactions at the same time, namely the issues of Bayer and Deutsche Telekom. If not quite travelling in the same circles, CMS Hasche Sigle has nevertheless managed to position itself in the debt segment with considerable business.

 

This subchapter deals with practice areas within debt capital and structured finance (securitizations, derivatives, distressed loans). The two segments occasionally overlap, as the boundaries between some debt products and structured finance are blurred. Clients are often advised on both practice fields by one firm. However, only a few firms operate in both fields with the same intensity, and they usually have separate teams in each. There are therefore separate tables for debt issues and structured finance.

Anleihen

Anleihenmarkt boomt, kompliziertere Produkte mit Regularien überzogen

Sowohl für Investment Grade wie auch für High-Yield-Anleihen verlief die erste Jahreshälfte 2017 extrem positiv. Während es im klassischen Anleihenbereich schon 2016 heiß herging, bedeutete der Jahresauftakt für Hochzinsanleihen eine deutliche Marktbelebung.

Von regulatorischen Vorgaben bestimmt blieb der Derivatemarkt. Vor allem EMIR, MFID II und MIFIR machten umfangreiche Maßnahmen bei den Finanzinstituten nötig, um den neuen Anforderungen gerecht zu werden.

Marktspitze bleibt unangetastet, Mittelfeld mit neuem Gesicht

Für größte Aufmerksamkeit im Markt sorgte der Wechsel eines angesehenen Partners von Clifford Chance zu Dentons. Mit einem weiteren Clifford Chance-Anwalt und einem Partner von Baker & McKenzie machte die größte Kanzlei der Welt damit nun auch bei Strukturierten Finanzierungen einen relativ großen Aufschlag und platzierte sich im guten Mittelfeld. Bedroht fühlen sich die etablierten Kanzleien davon allerdings bisher nicht. Insbesondere die Marktspitze bleibt unangetastet.

Die gute Geschäftslage nutzten einige, um den Generationswechsel vorzubereiten: So nahmen Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer und Linklaters jüngere Anwälte in diesem Bereich in die Partnerschaft auf.

Bei Anleihen tun sich die Marktführer souverän durch innovative Produkte hervor, wie etwa Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, die zu synthetischen Wandel- bzw. Optionsanleihen mit hohen Volumina für namhafte Unternehmen wie BASF und Fresenius in Erscheinung trat. Inzwischen fest im Markt etabliert hat sich auch Sullivan & Cromwell, die mit den Emissionen von Bayer und Deutscher Telekom gleich an zwei Milliardentransaktionen beteiligt war. Wenn auch nicht in diesen Sphären schwebend, aber dennoch mit einem beachtlichen Geschäft ist es CMS Hasche Sigle gelungen, sich im Anleihensegment zu positionieren.

 


Bei den folgenden Kanzleibewertungen wird die Rechtsberatung bei Anleihen sowie bei Strukturierten Finanzierungen (Verbriefungen, Derivate, notleidende Kredite) zusammengefasst. Beide Segmente weisen starke Überschneidungen auf; die Grenzen bei einigen Anleihenprodukten sowie Strukturierten Finanzierungen sind fließend.Nicht selten betreut eine Sozietät Mandanten in beiden Bereichen, jedoch betreiben nur wenige Kanzleien beide Bereiche in gleicher Intensität und sind für beide Segmente oft mit separaten Teams aufgestellt. Deshalb gibt es für Anleihen sowie Strukturierte Finanzierung jeweils eine eigene Rankingtabelle.