JUVE Law Firm of the year

Public Procurement

Tenders for the German armed forces stir up the market

It went faster than expected: a year after the amendment to the public procurement law was introduced, the need for training on the new guidelines has significantly declined. The focus has now shifted to the new law’s specific application in instructions. Following a short-lived boom in tenders before the new regulations came into play, new procurement procedures were initially seen to be gaining in momentum once again in the second half of 2016. Individual litigious matters came up here, e.g. on the correct application of the European single procurement document, which several market players believe will be resolved by the courts over the next few years.

Despite there being demand, no initiatives were set in motion recently for legal reforms in the security and defense sector. There were, however, a number of hard-fought review proceedings that appeared together with the many new, high-volume tenders associated with the German armed forces.

IT tenders brought in plenty of new business recently as contracting authorities from various industries reduced their backlog of investment projects with an eye to digitalization. Besides this, there is also a mounting need for advice on the topic of self-cleaning. The competition register, which will come into effect in 2019 and will list companies that have violated applicable regulations, could give this development fresh impetus. There is, however, heated debate among public procurement lawyers as to whether or not the competition register will be effective in achieving its purpose.

Call for closer integration within firms

Linking up with other specialist areas has long been the approach taken by procurement teams in large firms to cement their positions within those firms. This often sees them working closely together with regulatory industry specialists, e.g. in healthcare, or other legal fields such as antitrust.

More boutiques are finding their niche

At present, the market is also being penetrated by boutiques. They may not be able to offer their clients the same full-service approach, but they can provide them with highly specialized expertise. They only work with other firms when necessary, which means they can maintain their streamlined cost structure. No wonder then that new public procurement boutiques recently opened, following in the footsteps of the Freshfields spin-off Blomstein, e.g. Esch Bahner Lisch, whose partners broke away from Osborne Clarke. These young, flexible outfits are sought after by all kinds of clients.

A wide range of players such as Hogan Lovells, Heussen and, with an impressive presence on behalf of the German armed forces’ procurement office (Federal Office of Bundeswehr Equipment, Information Technology and In-Service Support, BAAINBw), Koblenz-based firm KDU Krist Deller & Partner benefited from the rise in procurement procedures in the lucrative security and defense sector.

In the continuously growing field of IT procurement, firms known for their IT competence such as Bird & Bird, Beiten Burkhardt and Graf von Westphalen are doing well.

 

Firms which are active in public procurement issues for contracting authorities and/or bidders are dealt with in this chapter. Many lawyers have a background in the construction industry, where public procurement has traditionally played an important role in contracts for public authorities. Others derive their expertise from a specialization in public law or in certain regulated sectors, especially the water/waste sector. Useful chapters for further reading include ?real estate, ?construction, ?environmental and planning law as well as ?regulated industries.


PfeilJUVE Law Firm of the year

  • Teilen

JUVE Kanzlei des Jahres

Vergaberecht

Ausschreibungen der Bundeswehr mischen den Markt auf

Es ging schneller als gedacht: Ein Jahr nach der Novelle des Vergaberechts ist der Schulungsbedarf zu den neuen Richtlinien deutlich abgeflaut. Nun geht es um die konkrete Anwendung des neuen Rechts in Mandaten. Nach einem kurzfristigen Boom der Ausschreibungen vor Inkrafttreten der neuen Regelungen liefen neue Vergabeverfahren erst in der zweiten Jahreshälfte 2016 wieder mit Schwung an. Dabei ergeben sich vereinzelt streitige Fragen, zum Beispiel zur richtigen Anwendung der Einheitlichen Europäischen Eigenerklärung, die nach Einschätzung einiger Marktteilnehmer in den kommenden Jahren von Gerichten geklärt werden wird.

Obwohl zum Teil gefordert, gab es im Sektor Sicherheit und Verteidigung zuletzt keine Initiativen für rechtliche Neuerungen. Im Zuge der vielen neuen, großvolumigen Ausschreibungen der Bundeswehr kam es jedoch zu zahlreichen hart umkämpften Nachprüfungsverfahren.

Viel Geschäft brachten zuletzt auch weiter IT-Ausschreibungen mit sich, weil Auftraggeber unterschiedlicher Branchen im Zuge der Digitalisierung ihren Investitionsstau abbauen. Zudem besteht auch beim Thema Selbstreinigung zunehmender Beratungsbedarf. Das ab 2019 wirksame Wettbewerbsregister, über das Unternehmen aufgelistet werden, die gegen geltende Regeln verstoßen haben, könnte dieser Entwicklung einen Schub verleihen. Ob das Wettbewerbsregister ein scharfes Schwert ist, ist unter Vergaberechtlern allerdings hoch umstritten.

Schlachtruf zur Vernetzung innerhalb der Kanzleien

Vernetzung mit anderen Fachbereichen ist für Vergabeteams in Großkanzleien schon seit Jahren der Schlachtruf, um ihre Position innerhalb ihrer Sozietät zu festigen. So arbeiten sie häufig sehr eng mit regulatorischen Branchenspezialisten, zum Beispiel im Gesundheitswesen, oder anderen Rechtsgebieten wie Kartellrecht zusammen.

Mehr Boutiquen finden ihre Lücke

Aktuell wird der Markt zudem von Boutiquen aufgerollt. Diese können ihren Mandanten zwar keinen Full-Service-Ansatz bieten, aber mit gezielter Spezialkompetenz aufwarten. Nur bei Bedarf arbeiten sie mit anderen Kanzleien zusammen und erhalten sich damit eine schlanke Kostenstruktur. Kein Wunder, dass nach dem Freshfields-Spin-off Blomstein zuletzt weitere Vergabeboutiquen eröffneten, darunter Esch Bahner Lisch, deren Partner sich von Osborne Clarke abspalteten. Die jungen, flexiblen Einheiten sind bei Mandanten jeder Größe gefragt.

Im lukrativen Sektor Sicherheit und Verteidigung profitieren verschiedenste Player wie Hogan Lovells, Heussen und aufseiten des Beschaffungsamts der Bundeswehr (BAAINBw) in beeindruckender Präsenz die Koblenzer Kanzlei KDU Krist Deller & Partner vom Anstieg dieser Vergaben.

Beim weiter wachsenden Feld der IT-Vergaben gewinnen Kanzleien wie Bird & Bird, Beiten Burkhardt und Graf von Westphalen hinzu, die für ihre IT-Kompetenz bekannt sind.

 


Die folgenden Bewertungen behandeln Kanzleien, die in vergaberechtlichen Fragen für Auftraggeber und/oder Bieter tätig werden. Viele Anwälte kommen aus dem Bausektor, wo traditionell bei Aufträgen für die öffentliche Hand das Vergaberecht eine wichtige Rolle spielt. Andere entwickeln ihre Expertise aus einer Spezialisierung im Öffentlichen Recht oder in bestimmten regulierten Branchen, v.a. dem Wasser-/Abfallsektor. Es empfiehlt sich daher, auch die Kapitel ?Immobilien- und ?Baurecht, ?Umwelt- und Planungsrecht sowie ?Regulierte Industrien zu konsultieren.


PfeilJUVE Kanzlei des Jahres