JUVE Law Firm of the year

Patents

Turbulent year for the European patent system

The launch of the new European patent system, consisting of the EU patent and a central Unified Patent Court (UPC), is becoming more and more of a rollercoaster ride. At the time of going to press, the UPC launch was still unclear, after a June 2017 complaint to the Federal Constitutional Court (Bundesverfassungsgericht) put a stop to German ratification for the foreseeable future. But ratification by Germany, the UK, France and ten other participating countries is necessary for the UPC to start operations. Across Europe, large parts of the industrial sector and legal market are in favor of the court and do not doubt that it will be launched in the coming years.

Constitutional complaint stops UPC process

The German UPC laws had already been submitted to the Federal President and were ready for signing when the constitutional complaint brought the process to a halt. The reason behind the complaint is the voting model in the Bundestag and the lacking democratic legitimacy of the UPC agreement. The matter is highly complex and experts expect the ruling to have far-reaching consequences.

While this makes a quick ratification in Germany uncertain, things are looking much clearer in the UK now. Following a period of major uncertainty about the impact Brexit would have on the project in summer 2016, London is aiming to ratify the last of three UPC laws by October 2017, so it can take part in the UPC for the long term. This appears to be legally possible as a non-EU member.

But if Brexit negotiations do not result in an agreement over the details, for instance concerning the involvement of British judges at the UPC and London as the home of a local division and parts of the UPC, it is now clear that the remaining 24 UPC countries will seek other ways to launch the court without the United Kingdom.

Hopes are still high for the UPC

Despite all of this there is hope. If the Federal Constitutional Court does reach its decision quickly, the court could feasibly launch in 2018. Once in force, experts are saying that the new court would soon be supplied with cases and would be a success. Chemicals, consumer goods and pharma corporates are the potential advocates of the system, mainly because of the possibility for Europe-wide injunctive relief. The auto industry, on the other hand, which traditionally only files its patents in a few countries, is still reacting cautiously to the EU patent and UPC for cost reasons. The biggest supporters of the new court, however, are NPEs.

NPE suits common in Germany

Germany is now the world’s central port of call for NPE suits, since the legal conditions at the US courts have become far more difficult for such suits. The three main German patent courts, Düsseldorf, Mannheim and Munich, are currently busy with suits by NPEs including Intellectual Ventures, Saint Lawrence Communications (SLC), Unwired Planet and IPCom against the mobile communications industry.

SLC above all is enjoying huge success in the form of multiple settlements. Sisvel is still active as well, and successfully contested the ECJ’s precedent decisions concerning the interpretation of FRAND case law at the Düsseldorf Regional Court (Landgericht) and the Higher Regional Court (Oberlandesgericht) against Haier. The next target for the flood of lawsuits by NPEs is the auto industry, with the advent of connected cars.

In Germany, reputable NPEs generally take action based on solid patents. Predatory NPEs taking action against the industrial sector with bad patents would have slim chances before the experienced German patent judges, experts believe.

Even the industrial corporates themselves are seeking out the reliable German courts as a stage for their global patent battles. Nokia and Apple fought in 32 cases, before settling in the early summer. Even Nikon attacked ASML and Carl Zeiss SMT regarding machines for manufacturing storage chips. Both suits have a cross-border dimension, so they are prime examples of potential UPC suits.

UPC proceedings: a growth engine for law firms?

Experts believe that extensive, complex proceedings conducted by large teams will be the norm at the UPC, and German law firms are getting ready for this. Out of the many activities among firms, three trends have emerged:

1. A growing number of patent attorney firms, such as Prüfer & Partner and Viering Jentschura & Partner, are building up their own litigation practices with experienced lawyers. Law firms are no longer shying away from integrating technical expertise into their own ranks. Hogan Lovells caused a stir with employment ads for patent attorneys, who would be responsible exclusively for litigation. Bird & Bird went one step further and, since hiring two patent attorneys from Uexküll & Stolberg in Hamburg, is no longer restricting itself to deploying patent attorneys in litigation and is instead filing patents actively.

2. Up-and-coming litigation firms are growing their teams and bringing experienced laterals on board to boost their expertise: DLA Piper bolstered its partnership with an experienced counsel from Allen & Overy. McDermott Will & Emery managed to do the same with a Loschelder partner. The examples also show how more US and British firms are currently looking to enter the German market, to improve their starting position for the UPC and to compensate for the uncertainty in their domestic markets.

3. Since ever more patent litigation is conducted across Europe, independently from the UPC launch, and clients are requesting international skills, firms are building on their international litigation competence. The frontrunner for this trend is Hoyng ROKH Monegier, whose 2015 launch is considered a success. It was also noteworthy in this respect that a Munich and a Paris Olswang partner decided to set up their own international IP litigation firm, Taliens, after their firm went to CMS Cameron McKenna in the UK.

Debate over UPC strategy proves explosive

Internationality, the integration of technical and legal expertise under one roof and raising the team size – the challenges posed by the UPC on firms are immense. Internal debates over the correct UPC strategy can also be explosive, as shown by the developments at Preu Bohlig & Partner. After the entire Düsseldorf IP team spun off as Kather Augenstein at the beginning of 2016, summer 2017 saw a large team specializing in soft IP leave the Hamburg office for CBH Rechtsanwälte. Two experienced patent litigators also went there from Munich. Preu Bohlig & Partner responded quickly and rebuilt its Düsseldorf and Hamburg offices with partners from DLA Piper and Harte-Bavendamm.

Similar discussions are keeping virtually all German litigation firms busy and are likely to keep the market in motion. In the new section “European strategy”, JUVE analyzes firms’ setups with regard to litigation before the UPC.

 

This chapter only concerns law firms that are active in technical protection rights (patents and registered designs). For more information, readers are advised to consult the ?antitrust, ?dispute resolution and ?trademarks and unfair competition chapters.

 
 

Patent attorney firms recommended for their expertise in particular technical fields

  • Abitz & Partner

    • Standort: Munich
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Chemicals and pharmaceuticals patents; litigation
    • Häufig empfohlen: 8 patent attorneys

    Becker & Müller

    • Standort: Ratingen
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Litigation; mechanics patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 6 patent attorneys

    Dehmel & Bettenhausen

    • Standort: Munich, Regensburg
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Biotech and pharmaceuticals patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 5 patent attorneys

    Freischem

    • Standort: Cologne
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Chemicals, software and engineering patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 4 patent attorneys

    Gleiss Große Schrell und Partner

    • Standort: Stuttgart
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Pharmaceuticals, biotech and medical technology patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 7 patent attorneys, 2 lawyers

    Gramm Lins & Partner

    • Standort: Braunschweig, Hanover
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Engineering patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 11 patent attorneys, 5 lawyers

    Henkel Breuer & Partner

    • Standort: Munich
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Chemicals and pharmaceuticals patents; litigation
    • Häufig empfohlen: 5 patent attorneys

    Herzog Fiesser & Partner

    • Standort: Düsseldorf, Munich
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Chemicals and pharmaceuticals patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 23 patent attorneys

    Hofstetter Schurack & Partner

    • Standort: Munich
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Electronics and mechanics patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 15 patent attorneys, 1 lawyer

    Isarpatent

    • Standort: Munich
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Electronics patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 14 patent attorneys, 2 lawyers

    KNH Kahlhöfer Neumann Rößler Heine

    • Standort: Düsseldorf
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Electronics and telecoms patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 12 patent attorneys

    Kraus & Weisert

    • Standort: Munich
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: IT/telecoms and pharmaceuticals/chemicals patents; litigation
    • Häufig empfohlen: 13 patent attorneys, 1 lawyer

    Kuhnen & Wacker

    • Standort: Freising
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Chemicals, electronics and mechanics patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 13 patent attorneys, 1 lawyer

    Kutzenberger Wolff & Partner

    • Standort: Cologne
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Chemicals, pharmaceuticals and mechanics patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 6 patent attorneys

    Lederer & Keller

    • Standort: Munich
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Pharmaceuticals, biotech and chemicals patents; litigation
    • Häufig empfohlen: 4 patent attorneys

    Leifert & Steffan

    • Standort: Düsseldorf
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Chemicals patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 3 patent attorneys

    Lippert Stachow & Partner

    • Standort: Bergisch Gladbach
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Electronics and engineering patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 15 patent attorneys, 5 lawyers

    Mitscherlich

    • Standort: Munich
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Electronics patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 18 patent attorneys, 3 lawyers

    Müller-Boré & Partner

    • Standort: Munich
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Mechanics, biotech, pharmaceuticals and medical technology patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 23 patent attorneys

    Müller Fottner Steinecke

    • Standort: Munich, Jülich
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Medical technology and pharmaceuticals patents; litigation
    • Häufig empfohlen: 3 patent attorneys, 3 lawyers

    Müller Schupfner & Partner

    • Standort: Munich, Hamburg
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Chemicals and medical technology patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 8 patent attorneys

    Richter Gerbaulet Thielemann Hofmann

    • Standort: Hamburg, Munich, Berlin
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Engineering patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 10 patent attorneys

    Ruff Wilhelm Beier Dauster & Partner

    • Standort: Stuttgart
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Chemicals, pharmaceuticals, electronics and engineering patents; litigation
    • Häufig empfohlen: 11 patent attorneys

    Schneiders & Behrendt

    • Standort: Bochum
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Engineering and medical technology patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 7 patent attorneys, 14 lawyers

    Stolmár & Partner

    • Standort: Düsseldorf, Munich
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Chemicals patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 9 patent attorneys

    Westphal Mussgnug & Partner

    • Standort: Villingen-Schwenningen, Munich
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Electronics and mechanics patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 11 patent attorneys

    Winter Brandl Fürniss Hübner Röss Kaiser Polte

    • Standort: Munich, Freising
    • Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt: Electronics and engineering patents
    • Häufig empfohlen: 21 patent attorneys, 1 lawyer

The selection of law firms in the above table reflects the research of the editorial staff at JUVE and is based on interviews with clients, lawyers and academics. It remains a subjective view and implies no disparagement of any firm not mentioned here but which is nevertheless active in this field. The firms are alphabetically listed.


PfeilJUVE Law Firm of the year

  • Teilen

JUVE Kanzlei des Jahres

Patentrecht

Turbulentes Jahr für das Europäische Patentsystem

Die Einführung des neuen Europäischen Patentsystems, bestehend aus dem EU-Patent und einem zentralen Patentgericht (kurz UPC für Unified Patent Court), wird immer mehr zur Achterbahnfahrt. Denn der Start des UPC ist bei Redaktionsschluss immer noch unklar, nachdem im Juni 2017 eine Beschwerde vor dem Bundesverfassungsgericht die deutsche Ratifizierung vorerst stoppte. Für den Start des UPC ist aber die Ratifizierung von Deutschland, Großbritannien, Frankreich und zehn weiteren Teilnehmerstaaten notwendig. Europaweit befürworten weite Teile der Industrie und der Anwaltschaft das Gericht und zweifeln nicht an seinem Start in den nächsten Jahren.

Verfassungsklage stoppt UPC-Prozess

Die deutschen UPC-Gesetze lagen bereits unterschriftsreif beim Bundespräsidenten, als die Verfassungsbeschwerde den Prozess stoppte. Die Beschwerdegründe richten sich gegen den Abstimmungsmodus im Bundestag und eine fehlende demokratische Legitimation des UPC-Vertrags. Die Beschwerdegründe sind sehr komplex, sodass Experten eine weitreichende Entscheidung erwarten.

Während damit eine schnelle Ratifizierung in Deutschland nun unsicher ist, sieht man in Großbritannien inzwischen sehr viel klarer. Nach einer erheblichen Unsicherheit über die Auswirkungen des Brexits auf das Projekt im Sommer 2016 will London das letzte von drei UPC-Gesetzen bis Oktober 2017 ratifizieren, um langfristig am UPC teilnehmen zu können. Rechtlich scheint das auch als Nicht-EU-Mitglied möglich zu sein.

Sollte es innerhalb der Brexit-Verhandlungen allerdings keine Einigung zu Detailfragen, wie der Beteiligung britischer Richter am UPC und London als Standort einer Lokalkammer und Teilen des UPC-Zentralgerichts, geben, ist inzwischen klar, dass die verbleibenden 24 UPC-Staaten andere Wege suchen wollen, um das Gericht ohne das Königreich zu starten.

Industrie hofft weiter auf UPC

Trotz allem gibt es Hoffnung. Denn sollte das Bundesverfassungsgericht doch schnell entscheiden, wäre sogar ein Start in 2018 noch denkbar. Einmal in Kraft, würde das neue Gericht nach Expertenmeinung schnell mit Fällen versorgt und ein Erfolg werden. Chemie-, Konsumgüter- und Pharmakonzerne gelten als potenzielle Befürworter des Systems, v.a. wegen der Möglichkeit eines europaweiten Unterlassungsanspruchs. Die Automobilindustrie hingegen, die traditionell ihre Patente nur in wenigen Ländern anmeldet, reagiert aus Kostengründen noch zurückhaltend auf das EU-Patent und das UPC. Als größte Befürworter des neuen Gerichts gelten aber Patentverwerter.

Verwerter klagen häufig in Deutschland

Deutschland ist inzwischen weltweit die zentrale Anlaufstelle für Verwerterklagen, nachdem die rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen vor US-Gerichten für derartige Klagen erheblich erschwert wurden. Die drei wichtigsten deutschen Patentgerichte Düsseldorf, Mannheim und München sind aktuell mit Klagen von Verwertern, beispielsweise von Intellectual Ventures, Saint Lawrence Communications (SLC), Unwired Planet und IPCom gegen die Mobilfunkindustrie, gut ausgelastet.

Vor allem SLC verzeichnet dabei große Erfolge in Form von mehreren Vergleichen. Nach wie vor aktiv ist auch Sisvel, die gegen Haier vor dem Landgericht und dem Oberlandesgericht Düsseldorf zuletzt Grundsatzurteile zur Auslegung der FRAND-Rechtsprechung des EuGH erstritten. Als nächstes Ziel für Klagewellen von Patentverwertern gilt die Automobilindustrie mit Blick auf das vernetzte Fahren.

In aller Regel klagen hierzulande seriöse Verwerter aus soliden Patenten. Räuberische Verwerter, die aus schlechten Patenten gegen die Industrie vorgehen, hätten vor den erfahrenen deutschen Patentrichtern, nach Meinung von Experten, nur geringe Chancen.

Auch die Industriekonzerne selbst suchen sich die verlässlichen deutschen Gerichte als zentralen Schauplatz ihrer weltweiten Patentschlachten aus. So stritten sich etwa Nokia und Apple in 32 Fällen, bevor sie sich im Frühsommer verglichen. Auch Nikon schlug dabei gegen ASML bzw. Carl Zeiss SMT um Maschinen zur Herstellung von Speicherchips los. Beide Masseverfahren haben eine grenzüberschreitende Dimension, sodass sie als Beispiele für potenzielle UPC-Klagen gelten.

Wettbewerbsfaktoren

UPC-Prozesse: Wachstumsmotor für Kanzleien

Vor dem UPC werden gerade derart umfangreiche, komplexe Verfahren, die von großen Teams geführt werden, laut Expertenmeinung die Regel sein. Und darauf bereiten sich die deutschen Kanzleien immer intensiver vor. Aus den vielen Aktivitäten der Kanzleien lassen sich drei Trends herausfiltern:

1. Immer mehr Patentanwaltskanzleien, wie Prüfer & Partner und Viering Jentschura & Partner, bauen eigene Prozessabteilungen mit erfahrenen Rechtsanwälten auf. Die Rechtsanwaltskanzleien schrecken nicht mehr davor zurück, technische Expertise in die eigenen Reihen zu integrieren. Hogan Lovells sorgte mit Stellenanzeigen für Patentanwälte für Unruhe im Markt, die sie aber ausschließlich für Prozessarbeit einsetzen will. Bird & Bird geht noch einen Schritt weiter und beschränkt sich seit der Verpflichtung von zwei Patentanwälten von Uexküll & Stolberg in Hamburg nicht mehr nur darauf, Patentanwälte in Prozessen einzusetzen, sondern meldet nun auch aktiv Patente an.

2. Aufstrebende Prozesskanzleien vergrößern ihre Teams und holen zusätzliche Expertise durch erfahrene Quereinsteiger an Bord: So verstärkte sich DLA Piper auf Partnerebene mit einem erfahrenen Counsel von Allen & Overy. Gleiches gelang McDermott Will & Emery mit einem Loschelder-Partner. Die Beispiele zeigen zudem, dass aktuell immer mehr britische und US-Kanzleien den Markteintritt in Deutschland suchen, um ihre Startposition für den UPC zu verbessern und die unsicheren Bedingungen in ihren Heimatmärkten zu kompensieren.

3. Weil immer mehr Patentprozesse, unabhängig vom Start des UPC, europaweit ausgefochten werden und Mandanten internationale Kompetenzen nachfragen, bauen Kanzleien internationale Prozesskompetenz auf. Als Vorreiter dieser Entwicklung gilt die inzwischen als gelungen betrachtete Gründung von Hoyng ROKH Monegier (2015). Bemerkenswert war in dieser Hinsicht auch, dass sich ein Münchner und ein Pariser Olswang-Partner entschieden, nachdem ihre Kanzlei in Großbritannien zu CMS Cameron McKenna wechselte, ihre eigene internationale IP-Prozesskanzlei Taliens zu gründen.

Diskussion von UPC-Strategie sorgt für Sprengkraft

Internationalität, Integration von technischer und juristischer Expertise unter einem Dach oder Ausbau der Teamgröße: Die Herausforderungen, die der UPC an die Kanzleien stellt, sind enorm (> Die wichtigsten Marktveränderungen). Dass die internen Diskussionen um die richtige UPC-Strategie auch Sprengkraft entwickeln können, belegt eindringlich die Entwicklung bei Preu Bohlig & Partner.

Nachdem sich Anfang 2016 das komplette Düsseldorfer IP-Team als Kather Augenstein abgespalten hatte, verließ im Sommer 2017 ein großes auf Soft-IP spezialisiertes Team den Hamburger Standort in Richtung CBH Rechtsanwälte. In München gingen zwei erfahrene Patentprozessrechtler ebenfalls dorthin. Preu Bohlig & Partner reagierte jeweils schnell und baute Düsseldorf und Hamburg mit Partnern von DLA Piper bzw. Harte-Bavendamm wieder auf.

Ähnliche Diskussionen beschäftigen fast alle deutschen Prozesskanzleien und dürften für weitere Bewegungen im Markt sorgen. JUVE analysiert in der neuen Rubrik „Europaweite Strategie“ die Aufstellung der Kanzleien in Hinblick auf die Prozessführung vor dem UPC.

 Erfindergeist


Die folgenden Bewertungen behandeln nur in Deutschland aktive Kanzleien, die zu technischen (Patenten und Gebrauchsmustern) Schutzrechten tätig sind. Hilfreiche Informationen zur Arbeit von Kanzleien finden sich ggf. auch in den Fachkapiteln ?Kartellrecht, ?Konfliktlösung bzw. ?Marken- und Wettbewerbsrecht.


PfeilJUVE Kanzlei des Jahres