JUVE Law Firm of the year

Energy Law

Legislation steps up a gear

This year saw legislators supply energy lawyers with a steady stream of work, with the Electricity Market Act creating the framework. This aims to help guarantee the security of supply in the market with the ongoing rise in renewable energies. The Renewable Energies Act amendment brought along new tendering models for renewable energies; the first tender for offshore wind farms immediately caused a furor when EnBW won with its zero-cent bid. The Cogeneration Act amendment also established tendering models, as well as providing relief to companies with intensive energy costs. For these same companies, changes to the self-generation of power have caused some uncertainty, which the amnesty regulation only allays to a limited degree.

Contractual solution to nuclear waste

The contentious issue of responsibility for nuclear waste was cleared up contractually between the federal government and the energy corporates: €24.7bn flowed into a sovereign wealth fund.

The current M&A market is dominated by joint ventures, which are symptomatic of the consolidation of the industry and the search for new business models, partly driven by digitalization.

Meanwhile, disputes surrounding franchise procedures for gas and electricity networks are still going strong. And firms are seeing a rise in litigation work overall.

Tough competition

Competition among law firms remains fierce and an ongoing fragmentation of the advisory market is evident. Young energy lawyers are parting ways with their firms: a well-known regulatory team from Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer moved to Flick Gocke Schaumburg, which thus entered the market. At the same time, boutiques and startups are attempting to broaden their influence: FBD spinoff Chatham Partners gained clout and boutique Boos Hummel & Wegerich opened a Cologne office. Pinsent Masons is fighting for market share from Düsseldorf with its new team, and Noerr has been working on raising its profile for years.

Established outfits like Freshfields and White & Case are still under huge pressure as the high margins expected are barely feasible. In this regard, Clifford Chance took a good step with its restructuring – but paid the price by losing a portion of its activity and reputation as a regulatory firm.

 

Firms in this subchapter offer advice to clients from the energy industry in more than one relevant legal field ( ?corporate, ?M&A, ?banking and finance, ?antitrust, ?public sector).


PfeilJUVE Law Firm of the year

JUVE Kanzlei des Jahres

Energiewirtschaftsrecht

Gesetzgebung im schnellen Takt

Im vergangenen Jahr hat der Gesetzgeber die Energierechtler kontinuierlich mit Arbeit versorgt: Das Strommarktgesetz setzt den Rahmen. Es soll bei anhaltendem Zuwachs der erneuerbaren Energien die Versorgungssicherheit im Markt gewährleisten helfen. Die EEG-Novelle brachte die neuen Ausschreibungsmodelle für erneuerbare Energien mit sich. Gleich die erste Ausschreibung für Offshorewindparks sorgte für Furore, weil EnBW mit einem Null-Cent-Angebot gewinnen konnte. Die KWKG-Novelle etablierte ebenfalls Ausschreibungsmodelle sowie eine Entlastung stromkostenintensiver Unternehmen. Sie stehen zudem wegen Neuerungen bei der Eigenerzeugung vor Unsicherheiten, die die eingeräumte Amnestieregelung nur bedingt ausräumt.

Vertragliche Lösung für Atomaltlasten gefunden

Das umstrittene Thema der Verantwortung für die Atomaltlasten klärte die Bundesregierung mit den Energiekonzernen vertraglich: 24,7 Milliarden Euro flossen in einen Staatsfonds.

Im M&A-Markt dominieren derzeit Joint Ventures, die kennzeichnend sind für die Konsolidierung der Branche, und die Suche nach neuen Geschäftsmodellen, die auch von der Digitalisierung angetrieben wird.

Ungebrochen intensiv sind die Streitigkeiten um Konzessionsverfahren für Gas und Stromnetze. Ohnehin nimmt in vielen Kanzleien das Litigation-Geschäft weiter zu.

Harter Konkurrenzkampf unter den Kanzleien

Der Wettbewerb unter den Kanzleien bleibt ungebrochen: Zu beobachten ist eine fortschreitende Zersplitterung der Beraterwelt. Junge Energierechtler trennen sich von ihren Einheiten. So wechselte ein marktbekanntes Regulierungsteam von Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer zu Flick Gocke Schaumburg, die damit in den Markt eintreten. Gleichzeitig versuchen Boutiquen und Neustarter ihren Einfluss zu erweitern: So gewann FBD-Spin-off Chatham Partners an Gewicht u. die Boutique Boos Hummel & Wegerich eröffnete ein Büro in Köln. Pinsent Masons kämpft mit ihrem neuen Team von Düsseldorf aus um Marktanteile, und eine Kanzlei wie Noerr schraubt ohnehin seit Jahren daran, ihre Präsenz zu erweitern.

Etablierte Einheiten wie FBD oder White & Case stehen weiterhin unter hohem Druck, weil die Erwartungen an hohe Margen kaum umzusetzen sind. Clifford Chance hat in dieser Hinsicht mit ihren Umstrukturierungen einen guten Schritt gemacht – um den Preis, einen Teil des Geschäfts u. den Ruf als Regulierungseinheit verloren zu haben.

 


Besprochen werden Kanzleien, die Beratungsleistungen für die Branche in mehr als einem relevanten Rechtsgebiet ( ?Gesellschaftsrecht, ?M&A, ?Bank- u. Finanzrecht, ?Kartellrecht, ?Öffentl. Sektor, ?Projektentwicklung/Anlagenbau) in signifikantem Umfang anbieten.


PfeilJUVE Kanzlei des Jahres