JUVE Law Firm of the year

White Collar Crime and Tax Criminal Law

From diesel to dividend stripping

In recent months, there have been more topics deserving of an in-depth discussion than usual: the Code of Criminal Procedure reform, the most recent rulings by the European public prosecutor’s office, the European Investigation Order coming into force and the shift of responsibility for money laundering to the customs authorities.

But the past year was dominated by other areas: the diesel scandal and the raid at VW’s representative Jones Day. Now, for the first time, the Federal Constitutional Court (Bundesverfassungsgericht) is set to tackle the question of which documents may be confiscated from internal investigations at law firms.

The countless investigations into dividend stripping (“cum-ex”) deals, which even kept a board of inquiry busy, are just one expression of the importance attached to tax criminal law now. On top of this was the involvement of investigators, especially in Nordrhein-Westfalen, in evaluating earlier voluntary declarations, triggering a flood of investigative proceedings against banks and individuals.

Under full load

Given this background, traditional white collar crime lawyers are reacting relatively calmly to the fact that more and more large firms are flocking into their territory. As, conversely, these boutiques are conquering ever more market share in compliance advice, a new equilibrium is setting in. The level of competition is especially apparent when it comes to the issue of young lawyers: the boutiques could gain even more ground in compliance if they could only find enough associates. But here it is the high-paying international firms that are scoring points. When criminal lawyers leave their firms it is either to start one of their own, like White & Case partner Jürgen Klengel, or to join the civil service, like a number of Redeker Sellner Dahs associates and an up-and-coming partner from HammPartner.

It is becoming increasingly clear how the generation change is altering the market for criminal defense lawyers, as some outfits dominated by younger partners, such as Ufer Knauer, Grub Brugger, Trüg Habetha, Dr. Frank Dr. Auffermann Halbritter Dr. Horrer and Strafverteidigerbüro, are landing work of an increasingly high caliber. When it comes to the defense of individuals, most of them cannot yet hold a candle to the old hands, but they are breaking through into the market with lower profile litigation or advice to companies. None of them have a senior figurehead. The issue of succession, in fact, is a shaky one at some outfits, as central instructions have been handled by senior partners for too long and younger partners are unable to carve out a stronger profile for themselves.

Tax criminal law – once a niche field for tax freaks – has to be an integral part of any criminal law firm today if the latter hopes to exist in the market. Young firm Rettenmaier & Adick was proof of this: through a specialization in tax law it quickly conquered a solid position in the criminal defense scene. Offices without tax criminal law expertise are losing visibility as they no longer have a seat at the table in the central defense cases.

 

The following chapter deals with firms which provide advice on white collar crime and/or tax criminal law. Please also see the chapters on ?dispute resolution, ?public law and ?tax law. The rankings distinguish between advice and litigation for companies as plaintiffs or parties affected under the Regulatory Offenses Act, and defense of individuals. Another ranking lists the market’s distinguished tax criminal lawyers. Multidisciplinary ?compliance advice is covered in a separate chapter. As a rule, client details tend to refer to advice in proceedings ongoing at the time of going to print and constitute allegations that have not yet been proven.


PfeilJUVE Law Firm of the year

  • Teilen

JUVE Kanzlei des Jahres

Wirtschafts- und Steuerstrafrecht

Zwischen Diesel und Cum-Ex

Es hätte in den vergangenen Monaten im Strafrecht mehr Themen als sonst gegeben, die einer tiefen Diskussion würdig gewesen wären: die Reform der StPO, die jüngsten Beschlüsse zur Europäischen Staatsanwaltschaft, das Inkrafttreten der Europäischen Ermittlungsanordnung und die Umsiedlung der Geldwäschezuständigkeit zu den Zollbehörden.

Beherrschend waren jedoch andere Themen: so etwa der Dieselskandal und die Durchsuchung bei der VW-Kanzlei Jones Day. Nun soll sich erstmals das Bundesverfassungsgericht mit der Frage befassen, welche Unterlagen aus internen Untersuchungen in Anwaltskanzleien beschlagnahmt werden dürfen.

Die zahllosen Ermittlungen rund um Cum-Ex-Geschäfte, die sogar einen Untersuchungsausschuss beschäftigten, sind nur ein Ausdruck dafür, welche Bedeutung inzwischen das Steuerstrafrecht hat. Hinzu kommt das Engagement v.a. nordrhein-westfälischer Ermittler bei der Auswertung früherer Selbstanzeigen, das für eine Flut von Ermittlungsverfahren gegen Banken und Einzelpersonen sorgt.

Unter Volllast

Vor diesem Hintergrund nehmen die traditionellen Wirtschaftsstrafrechtler die Tatsache, dass immer mehr Großkanzleien in ihr Revier drängen, relativ gelassen. Da sich diese Boutiquen umgekehrt immer mehr Marktanteile in der Compliance-Beratung erobern, pendelt sich ein neues Gleichgewicht ein. Die Konkurrenzsituation zeigt sich v.a. beim Thema Nachwuchs: Die Boutiquen könnten in der Compliance-Arbeit noch stärker zulegen, wenn sie genug Associates fänden. Doch hier punkten inzwischen oft die gut zahlenden internationalen Kanzleien. Wenn Strafrechtler ihre Kanzlei verlassen, dann entweder in eigene Kanzlei wie etwa White & Case-Partner Jürgen Klengel oder in Richtung öffentlicher Dienst – so einige Associates von Redeker Sellner Dahs, aber auch eine aufstrebende Partnerin von HammPartner.

Derweil zeichnet sich immer deutlicher ab, wie der Generationswechsel den Markt der Strafverteidiger verändert. Denn einige von jüngeren Partnern geprägte Einheiten wie Ufer Knauer, Grub Brugger, Trüg Habetha, Dr. Frank Dr. Auffermann Halbritter Dr. Horrer und das Strafverteidigerbüro gewinnen inzwischen immer hochkarätigere Mandate. In der Individualverteidigung können die meisten von ihnen zwar den alten Hasen noch nicht ganz das Wasser reichen, bahnen sich aber über die Vertretung in 2. Reihe oder über die Beratung von Unternehmen ihren Weg in den Markt. Sie alle kommen ohne eine seniore Galionsfigur aus. Im Gegenteil: In manchen Einheiten bleibt die Nachfolge sogar wackelig, weil zentrale Mandate zu lange doch durch den Senior selbst betreut wurden, als dass sich die Jüngeren hätten mehr Profil erarbeiten können.

Steuerstrafrecht – einst eher ein Nischenthema für Steuerfreaks – muss dabei heute integraler Bestandteil jeder Strafrechtskanzlei sein, um im Markt zu bestehen. Die junge Kanzlei Rettenmaier & Adick beweist dies: Über die Spezialisierung im Steuerrecht hat sie sich rasch einen festen Platz in der strafrechtlichen Verteidigerszene erobert. Büros ohne steuerstrafrechtliche Kompetenz verlieren an Präsenz, weil sie bei maßgeblichen Verteidigerrunden nicht mehr mit am Tisch sitzen.

Die folgenden Bewertungen behandeln Kanzleien, die im Wirtschafts- und/oder Steuerstrafrecht beraten. Bitte beachten Sie auch die Kapitel ?Konfliktlösung, ?Öffentliches Wirtschaftsrecht und ?Steuerrecht. Die tabellarischen Übersichten unterscheiden zwischen Individualverteidigung u. der Beratung bzw. Begleitung von Unternehmen als Geschädigte oder nach dem Ordnungswidrigkeitengesetz Betroffene. Hinzu kommt eine weitere Übersicht, die ausgewiesene Steuerstrafrechtler erfasst. Die fachübergreifende ?Compliance-Beratung wird in einem gesonderten Kapitel dargestellt. Die Mandatsbeschreibungen beziehen sich in aller Regel auf die Beratung bei zum Zeitpunkt des Redaktionsschlusses laufenden Verfahren mit entsprechend nicht rechtskräftig festgestellten Vorwürfen.


PfeilJUVE Kanzlei des Jahres