Legal tech: Creeping revolution

The digitalization of legal advice is one of the main challenges facing firms. Those who do not react will not be able to keep up with the competition, as legal departments too are gradually discovering the possibilities of legal tech.

Just two years ago, many were confident: it would be almost impossible to transfer the technical trends from the US, where legal tech tools are far more widespread than in Europe, to other legal systems. But this was not the case. The number of patents filed for legal services has been rising for years; many filers come from the startup scene.

Among these are German online services like myright.de or flightright.de, which collect damages for consumers. Because of the volume, a business model has emerged – and a challenge for companies. Behind myright.de in the VW diesel scandal, for example, is the US firm Hausfeld, which wants to help thousands of car buyers claim damages. Legal departments have to react – ideally with a technical solution to keep the additional expense low.

As well as this, there are now firms that offer digitally assisted work at fixed prices. Platforms like Advocado or Jurato have been targeting more than just consumers for a long time. Financially, these are certainly no competition for established firms, but they are turning up the pressure on firms to rethink their fee models.

May 2017 saw the official German launch of Axiom, with technology-based legal services. The consulting company enjoys huge global success but not much has been heard from it in Germany yet. Such alternative legal service providers have struggled so far because in-house lawyers have been unable to gauge them. But the rising acceptance on a global scale will weaken skepticism in Germany too.

Top law firms flexing their muscles

Companies Two-speed evolution

Risk management: negligence is no option

The 40-hour associates<

Seiten: 1234

  • Teilen

Legal Tech: Revolution auf leisen Sohlen

Die Digitalisierung der Rechtsberatung ist eine der größten Herausforderungen für Kanzleien. Wer nicht reagiert, wird im Wettbewerb nicht mithalten können, denn auch die Rechtsabteilungen entdecken allmählich die Möglichkeiten von Legal Tech.

Noch vor zwei Jahren waren sich viele sicher: Es wird kaum möglich sein, die technischen Trends aus den USA, wo Legal Tech-Tools schon wesentlich weiter verbreitet sind als in Europa, in andere Rechtsordnungen zu übertragen.

Erfindergeist

Es ist anders gekommen. Die Zahl der Patentanmeldungen für Legal Services steigt seit Jahren, viele Anmelder kommen aus der Start-up-Szene.

Dazu gehören auch deutsche Onlinedienste wie myright.de oder flightright.de, die Schadensersatz für Verbraucher eintreiben. Durch die Masse wird daraus ein Geschäftsmodell – und eine Herausforderung für Unternehmen. Hinter myright steht etwa im VW-Dieselskandal die US-Kanzlei Hausfeld, die Tausende von Autokäufern zu Schadensersatz verhelfen will. Die Rechtsabteilungen müssen reagieren – im besten Fall mit einer technischen Lösung, um den Mehraufwand gering zu halten.

Daneben gibt es inzwischen Kanzleien, die ihre Arbeit digital gestützt zu Festpreisen anbieten. Plattformen wie Advocado oder Jurato wenden sich längst nicht nur an Verbraucher. Finanziell sind sie sicher keine Konkurrenz für die etablierten Kanzleien, erhöhen aber den Druck auf diese, ihre Honorarmodelle zu überdenken.

Im Mai 2017 ging dann auch Axiom in Deutschland unter anderem mit technologiebasierten juristischen Dienstleistungen offiziell an den Start. Noch ist von der global sehr erfolgreichen Beratungsfirma hierzulande nicht viel zu hören. Bislang taten sich derartige alternative Rechtsdienstleister stets schwer, weil Unternehmensjuristen sie nicht einschätzen konnten. Doch die zunehmende Akzeptanz auf globaler Ebene wird die Skepsis auch in Deutschland schwinden lassen.

Kanzleien: Muskelspiele an der Marktspitze

Unternehmen: Evolution der zwei Geschwindigkeiten

Risikomanagement: Nachlässigkeit ist keine Option

Nachwuchsanwälte: Die 40-Stunden-Associates

Wer an der Spitze der Legal Tech-Entwicklung steht, lesen Sie hier

Seiten: 1234